Sick Days

September 30, 2008 at 10:17 am 4 comments

#3 walked in the door 3 minutes ago and already is down to his boxers, drinking a can of Pepsi – which apparently makes his stomach feel better.  (I did not know that about Pepsi.)  He started the day okay (I think – I mostly parented from my bed this morning) but called at 9:11complaining of a stomach ache.

I told him to eat the Nurse’s Office saltines (hey, that should be a brand name: Nurse’s Office Saltines.  Or what about Sunday School Animal Crackers?  Or Park District Soccer Game Juice Boxes?) and lie down until he felt better.  I even encouraged him to push through till lunch, when he could get him some of that High School Cafeteria Pizza.   However, it just wasn’t to be.  He called 6 minutes later and said that he wasn’t feeling any better and could he just come home.  Yeah, 6 whole minutes and he wasn’t feeling any better!

So, it is now 9:45, and he’s already finished his Pepsi and is on to last night’s leftovers and some pretzels.  Poor kid.  He hasn’t decided yet whether he’ll be upstairs or downstairs.  I’m hoping for upstairs so that I can pretend he’s not here.  I mean, I like him and all, but it’s a school day, and that’s supposed to mean that I get to be kidless for a few hours.  Which leads me to yesterday…

Okay, granted it was Monday and cold and rainy, but wouldn’t you know that #5 wasn’t feeling well when she woke up? And being the lazy-butt mother that I am, I even planted the seed in #6’s mind that maybe she wasn’t feeling too well, either.  That way, I could get out of making lunches or driving anyone to school.  It worked; the cold she was starting over the weekend turned into a full blown (and I mean at-death’s-door) case of sniffles and a headache.

My kids rarely have fevers or any truly measurable ailments.  They have headaches and stomach aches and have even learned that sore throats are hard for me to verify.  So, if you mix it up a bit and have, say, a headache and a stomach ache one week and then just a sore throat the next, Mom will let you stay home.  But don’t combine too many ailments too often or Mom will a) not believe you or b) make you go get a gaggy strep test from Nurse Jana.  Also, if you get picky about which medicine you want to take, Mom’s gonna get suspicious.

So here’s how the girls’ day went yesterday:

  • Acted sick enough to stay home until the coast was clear.
  • Asked for saltines and Sprite (sorry, no Sprite – and I wasn’t offering Pepsi because I did not yet know of its miraculous healing powers)
  • Got all comfy in Mom & Dad’s bed with books
  • Continued to be comfy in Mom & Dad’s bed with t.v. and coloring
  • Felt well enough to eat half a loaf of chocolate chip pumpkin bread
  • “Slept” because Mom was starting to mention going back to school after lunch
  • #5 cleaned her room (she likes order) while #6 got out scissors and created lots of tiny paper scraps (she doesn’t care so much for order)
  • Played Webkinz school
  • Bickered
  • “Slept”
  • Watched a heck of a lot of Disney Channel

Me?  I stayed in my jammies most of the day (well, they did request that I put on a bra at one point) and did housework.  I never made it to the gym or the grocery store, but it wasn’t a bad day.

There will be no sick kids tomorrow.  It is my coffee day.  The kids know that by now.

Entry filed under: Daily Life.

Wordless Wednesday Stinky Little Girls

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tim  |  September 30, 2008 at 10:23 am

    So that’s why there were all those crumbs on my side of the bed last night!

    Reply
  • 2. Joanna  |  October 1, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Love the branding of various oft-enjoyed products. I like Coffee Day Cookies personally, with no sick kids at all!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Jana  |  October 3, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    You’ve toughened up. As I recall, Eva used to make it to the occasional coffee…and we loved having her except for having to spell the swear words. Maybe that’s why she doesn’t come anymore. She can spell.

    Reply
  • 4. Teri Luna  |  October 12, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    These are great reflections on your life! Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,337 hits

Feeds

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

